The camp at Djelfa accomodated as from March 1941 the “rebels” come from the political camps of the metropolis.

Located at 1200 m of altitude, the climate of the Algerian high tables prevails there: very hot the summer and icy the winter, a cold accentuated by the wind from the north which blows in storm one day out of two.

At the beginning, only tents had been installed for the housing of the internees. At the end of 1941, good number of them still slept under these tents, the others being able to benefit from hard huts they had built. Next spring, remained only of the hard buildings.

Letter of an internee sent from DJELFA the 21-4-1942
bound for the Y.M.C.A., in GENEVA (Swiss).


The internees also arranged the ford which allowed the access to the camp, except by stormy weather, the wadi outgoing from its bed and flooding all the routes transportation with the city.

In his report dated May 16, 1942, Andre JEAN-FAURE, General inspector of the Camps and former Prefect of Ardeche, noted that only one epidemic had struck the internees in one year. But during the summer and of the autumn 1941, the use of a polluted source had caused an epidemic of typhoid which touched 55 internees, causing fifteen deaths on a thousand of internees.

Revision date

CAMP DE DJELFA
(Alger)

Le camp de Djelfa accueillit à partir de mars 1941 les "fortes têtes" venues des camps politiques de la Métropole.

Situé à 1200 m d'altitude, c'est le climat des hauts plateaux algériens qui y sévit : très chaud l'été et glacial l'hiver, un froid accentué par le vent du nord qui souffle en tempête un jour sur deux.

Au début, seuls des marabouts avaient été installés pour le logement des internés. Fin 1941, bon nombre d'entre eux dormaient encore sous ces tentes, les autres pouvant profiter de baraques en dur qu'ils avaient construites. Au printemps suivant, ne subsistaient que des bâtiments en dur.

Lettre d'un interné expédiée de DJELFA le 21-4-1942
à destination de l'Y.M.C.A., à GENEVE (Suisse).

verso

Les internés aménagèrent également le gué qui permettait l'accès au camp, sauf par temps d'orage, l'oued sortant de son lit et inondant toutes les voies de communication avec la ville.

Dans son rapport du 16 mai 1942, André JEAN-FAURE, Inspecteur Général des Camps et ancien Préfet de l'Ardèche, notait qu'une seule épidémie avait frappé les internés en une année. Mais l'utilisation d'une source polluée avait été à l'origine, au cours de l'été et de l'automne 1941, d'une épidémie de typhoide qui toucha 55 internés, occasionnant quinze décès sur un millier d'internés.

Mise jour
18/03/2008